South Africa

South Africa Rugby World Cup 2011 Squad - South Africa Betting Odds

One of the most memorable images in Rugby World Cup history was South Africa winning their first Rugby World Cup in 1995 and of course it was even more special that it was in South Africa and Nelson Mandela was there in his South Africa Rugby shirt to hand over the trophy to Springbok captain Francois Pienaar. The South Africans then added to that achievment with another World Cup victory in France in 2007, they were simply the best team in the tournament last time and will be hoping to put up a strong defence of their trophy.

South Africa are one of the strongest Rugby nations in the World Cup Betting Odds and the country has a great history of Rugby and they will be very keen to add a third Rugby World Cup in 2011. Whether they will be able to do that is of course another matter as they have slipped from their position as the best team in the world over the past couple of years, they have struggled slightly in the Tri Nations against the All Blacks and they will need to improve if they are to claim a third victory.

The South Africans can still boast a hugely talented team with the likes of Bryan Habana and Victor Matfield still at the peak of their powers, Habana made a name for himself at the last World Cup and he remains one of the most potent wingers in world rugby. Habana will once again be featuring in the Rugby World Cup Top Tryscorer Odds which is a market that he came out on top of at the 2007 tournament.

South Africa have been drawn in Pool D of the World Cup along with Wales who are likely to pose the biggest threat to them, they are the clear favourites in Pool D Betting and will be expected to comfortably qualify for the last eight where they will face the runners-up in Pool C.

South Africa Rugby World Cup 2011 Squad

Forwards: Pierre Spies, Willem Alberts, Heinrich Brussow, Schalk Burger, Francois Louw, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Johann Muller, Danie Rossouw, Jannie Du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, John Smit (captain), Tendai Mtawarira, Guthro Steenkamp.

Backs: Francois Steyn, Gio Aplon, Patrick Lambie, Bryan Habana, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen, Juan de Jongh, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Butch James, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Francois Hougaard, Ruan Pienaar.